Halloween is right around the corner and while many people are ready for some sense of normalcy for their families, COVID is still out there making people sick. Still — people haven’t given up entirely on trying to make Halloween great.
The self-proclaimed capital of Halloween world, Anoka, plans on still commemorating its 100th festival with a drive-by parade and smaller crowds but want people to remain safe.
While a few things are looking different this year for Halloween, not everything is likely to change – namely drink driving. Driving under the influence is a serious crime in Minnesota and evidence suggests that it’s a Halloween tradition that won’t change much.
Here’s what you need to know about the consequences that can be faced when drinking and driving this Halloween and beyond.
DUI Offenses in Minnesota
The Minnesota 2017 impaired driving report found that:
- 72 Minnesotans were killed by someone operating a vehicle while drunk during 2017
- There were over 24,000 DUI arrests in Minnesota in 2017, which is about 68 per day
- One-third of the state’s total traffic deaths were the result of alcohol-related crashes
- Most people arrested for DUIs are between the ages of 20 and 34
- The average blood alcohol level of a person arrested for a DUI is 0.15, which is twice the legal limit of 0.07
The Penalties for DUIs in Minnesota
This Halloween (and every day, actually), you will want to think twice before drinking and driving. If the statistics above aren’t enough to convince you, then perhaps the penalties associated with a DUI will.
First DUI Offense
For a first DUI offense where the blood alcohol level is below 0.16 is a misdemeanor, you can be subject to up to three months in jail and fines up to $1,000. If you have a blood-alcohol level above 0.16, then you can go to jail for up to one year and pay $3,000 in fines.
Refusal to take a test to measure your blood alcohol level can result in an automatic sentence of up to one year in jail and $3,000 in fines. You can also face a driver’s license revocation that lasts up to three months.
Second DUI Offense
For a second DUI offense, the charge is considered a gross misdemeanor. It can result in fines up to $3,000 and a minimum of 30 days in jail. You can also face a suspended license for one year and an ignition interlock system being installed on your car with limited driving privileges.
Third DUI Offense
A third offense is considered a gross misdemeanor as well. It can result in up to 90 days in jail along with fines up to $3,000 and losing your license for up to three years. An ignition interlock system may also be installed on your car for two years with limited driving privileges.
Fourth DUI Offense
When you get charged for the fourth time with a DUI, it’s considered a felony. You can face up to seven years in prison and five years of probation as well as pay up to $14,000 in fines.
License revocation can occur for at least four years as well and you’ll be placed in an intensive program for repeat DUI offenders.
Stay safe this Halloween and remember to be safe not just from the coronavirus but also from making the choice to drink and drive.
About the Author:
Christopher Keyser is an AV-Preeminent rated criminal and DWI defense attorney based in Minneapolis who is known for fighting aggressively for his clients and utilizing innovative tactics to get the most positive results. He has been featured in numerous media outlets due to the breadth and depth of his knowledge and named a Certified Specialist in Criminal Law by the Minnesota Bar Association. Mr. Keyers is Lead Counsel rated, and he has received recognition for his criminal law work from Avvo, Expertise, Super Lawyers, The National Trial Lawyers, and more.