In Minnesota, someone who is charged with homicide can be charged in varying degrees. In fact, Minnesota has five different types of homicide that someone can be charged with.
Learn how Minnesota defines each type, what crimes fall under each degree, and the penalties associated with convictions.
- Premeditation — If the killing of another is planned before it was committed or if it was planned to cause another person harm in such a way to cause their death
- Sexual assault – If someone was killed during a sexual assault by using force or violence that results in their death
- Burglary – If someone is killed in an attempt to commit burglary or committing burglary occurs
- Aggravated robbery – If the actions were taken during a robbery result in the death of another
- Arson – if someone dies as the result of a fire that was set on purpose
- Terrorism – If someone dies during an act of terrorism
- Illegal sale of a controlled substance – If a person dies during the illegal sale of a controlled substance
Examples of first-degree charges for murder include:
- The killing of a child
- The killing of a judge
- The killing of a partner our spouse after domestic abuse
- The killing of a police officer
- The killing of a witness in a crime
The strictest sentence that can be received for first-degree murder in Minnesota is life in prison since there is no death penalty in the state.
Second-degree murder is charged when a killing happens with intent, but the killing was not planned before it occurred. Often, people who kill due to an intense emotional outburst or as an emotional response get charged with this degree of murder.
The penalty if found guilty of second-degree murder is up to 40 years in prison.
Third-degree murder is charged when the death of another is deemed not to be done with intent. It encompasses crimes such as someone firing a gun into a crowd or death that resulted from actions that are considered to show an indifference to human life.
A third-degree murder conviction is punishable by up to 25 years in prison. However, if the death of another is due to the sale of Schedule I or II drugs, then fines are also attached to the sentence. These fines can run up to $40,000.
Manslaughter refers to a killing crime that did not involve premeditation as well. However, incidents of manslaughter are further classified as either voluntary or involuntary manslaughter.
Voluntary manslaughter is normally charged over murder when a killing is committed after being provoked by an emotional response. This is a crime that is often known as a crime of passion. The penalty for voluntary manslaughter is up to 15 years in prison and fines up to $30,000.
Involuntary manslaughter is charged when the death of another person is caused by negligence. A common example is a vehicular homicide where the negligent operation of a vehicle leads to the death of someone else. If convicted of involuntary manslaughter, you can face up to 10 years in prison and fines up to $20,000.
Regardless of the charges someone faces, It’s important to understand that anyone brought up on murder charges in Minnesota is innocent until proven guilty. This is a legal concept that simply means the burden of proof lies with the state to show you committed the crime that is being charged.
About the Author:
Christopher Keyser is an AV-Preeminent rated criminal and DWI defense attorney based in Minneapolis who is known for fighting aggressively for his clients and utilizing innovative tactics to get the most positive results. He has been featured in numerous media outlets due to the breadth and depth of his knowledge and named a Certified Specialist in Criminal Law by the Minnesota Bar Association. Mr. Keyers is Lead Counsel rated, and he has received recognition for his criminal law work from Avvo, Expertise, Super Lawyers, The National Trial Lawyers, and more.