Felony DWI is a First Degree DWI in Minnesota. Felony DWI defense lawyer Christopher Keyser routinely handles DWI charges throughout Minnesota resulting in dismissed or reduced charges. Contact us at (612) 338-5007 for a free Felony DWI case evaluation.
A driver may face Felony DWI charges if the driver commits a DWI within 10 years of the first of three or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents (this means the driver has at least three criminal DWI convictions in the past 10 years or has 3 or more prior alcohol-related drivers license revocations in the past 10 year – or a combination of the two).
A Felony DWI charge can also arise when a driver has previously been convicted of Felony DWI, Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Injury, or substance-related offenses. A Felony DWI charge carries a mandatory prison sentence of 3 years. However, Minnesota law allows a judge to suspend the prison sentence depending on the specific facts and circumstances of the case. The maximum penalty for a Felony DWI is 7 years in prison and/or a $14,000.00 fine, however it is rare for a person to receive a maximum sentence. Review our links to learn the differences between First Degree DWI, Second Degree DWI, Third Degree DWI, and Fourth Degree DWI.
Contact Minneapolis Felony DWI Lawyer
A Felony DWI charge can be stressful given the potential to serve a prison sentence. If you face Felony DWI charges, you have options. To speak with Minneapolis Felony DWI Defense Lawyer Christopher Keyser, call our office at 612-338-5007.