Some people who are found guilty of sex crimes in Minnesota are required to register as sex offenders. If your exposure to people who have been labeled sex offenders is limited to what you have seen in movies or television shows you’ve watched, it’s important to understand how serious the reality actually is.
There are a whole slew of restrictions that go along with being a sex offender that can have a huge impact on your life – often for the remainder of it. Additionally, failing to register as a sex offender can put offenders in even more legal jeopardy.
Here’s what you need to know about the restrictions placed on sex offenders in Minnesota and what is included in the process of registering as a sex offender in our state.
What Offenses Require Sex Offender Registration in Minnesota?
There are several sexual offenses that, if someone is convicted, will require them to register as a sex offender. They are:
- First to fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct
- False imprisonment of a minor
- Solicitation of a minor to engage in sexual conduct
- Possession of child pornography
- First-degree kidnapping and murder
- Felony indecent exposure
- Solicitation of a minor to engage in prostitution
How Long Must a MN Sex Offender Register?
In the state of Minnesota, sex offenders are required to register for at least a 10-year period. If their probation is longer than 10 years, then they legally must register as a sex offender for the length of their probation.
For aggravated offenses, repeat offenses, or any other offenses that label someone legally as a sexual predator, lifetime sex offender registration is mandatory.
What If You Don’t Register in Minnesota?
Remember, failing to register as a sex offender when you’ve been ordered to do so is a crime itself. Each time someone fails to register, they will have five years added on to the length of the sex offender registration.
For those convicted of failure to register one time, they may be sentenced to up to 12 months behind bars, but subsequent failure to register offenses can put them in prison for up to two years.
What Does It Mean to Fail to Register?
The state can charge you with the offense of failing to register as a sex offender if you fail to submit the proper forms required or simply don’t register. You can also be charged if you fail to report changes to the information you must provide, such as your address, where you work, where you go to school, or what type of vehicle you drive.
If you are a sex offender and you come into the state to work, live, or go to school, then you can also get in trouble for failing to register with local authorities. Anyone who is a convicted sex offender and visits the state for more than 14 days is required to register as well.
Restrictions Faced as a Minnesota Sex Offender
Not only do sex offenders have to register in our state, they also must abide by certain restrictions during the period they are on the registry. These restrictions include:
A person on the registry cannot live near places where children are present such as parks, daycares, or schools.
Sex offenders cannot work in places such as schools, clothing stores, spas, or salons. They also may not be in a profession that gives them authority, such as a doctor.
About the Author:
Christopher Keyser is an AV-Preeminent rated criminal and DWI defense attorney based in Minneapolis who is known for fighting aggressively for his clients and utilizing innovative tactics to get the most positive results. He has been featured in numerous media outlets due to the breadth and depth of his knowledge and named a Certified Specialist in Criminal Law by the Minnesota Bar Association. Mr. Keyers is Lead Counsel rated, and he has received recognition for his criminal law work from Avvo, Expertise, Super Lawyers, The National Trial Lawyers, and more.