ss misdemeanor and a common third DWI offense in Minnesota. Second Degree DWI defense lawyer Christopher Keyser routinely handles gross misdemeanor DWI cases throughout Minnesota resulting in dismissed or reduced charges. Contact us at (612) 338-5007 for a free Second Degree DWI case evaluation.
A Second Degree DWI charge carries a mandatory minimum sentence of 90 days in jail. However, how the 90 days is served may vary depending on the county or city where the case is, the driver’s record, and the circumstances surrounding the DWI incident. Minnesota law allows for a minimum of 30 days to be served in jail with the remaining 60 days on electronic home monitoring (sometimes called “house arrest”).
Additional consequences stemming from a Second Degree DWI arrest may include probation for 4 or more years, completion of a chemical dependency evaluation, recommendations for outpatient or inpatient treatment programs, and alcohol monitoring. A Second Degree DWI charge usually comes with a separate license revocation of 3 or more years depending on whether the driver has any prior criminal DWI convictions within the past 10 years or any alcohol-related drivers license revocations in the past 10 years. Drivers facing Second Degree DWI charges may also face vehicle forfeiture – an extremely costly penalty. The maximum penalty for a Second Degree DWI is 1 year in jail and/or a $3,000.00 fine, however it is rare for a person to receive a maximum sentence.
Second Degree DWI Challenges
There are several strategies a Minneapolis DWI lawyer can use to fight Second Degree DWI charges. Second Degree DWI defense lawyers will analyze the initial interaction between a driver and the police, in particular the reasons for stopping the driver’s vehicle. Other aspects considered for Second Degree DWI challenges include the manner and method of the chemical testing, the reliability of the testing, and the observations of the police officer during any roadside interaction with the driver as well as during investigation at the police station. It is uncommon for a Second Degree DWI lawyer to find zero challenges in a case. The police reports, witness statements, police officer dashboard video camera evidence, and testing reports are all scrutinized for accuracy, flaws, and inconsistencies to build a strong defense for every Second Degree DWI charge. Depending on the facts and circumstances of the case, a Second Degree DWI charge may be reduced to a Third Degree DWI, a Fourth Degree DWI, or a Careless Driving.
Contact Minneapolis Second Degree DWI Lawyer
A Second Degree DWI charge can be stressful, especially for someone with no criminal record. If you face Second Degree DWI charges, you have options. To speak with Minneapolis Second Degree DWI Defense Lawyer Christopher Keyser, call our office at 612-338-5007. We will provide a free case evaluation and discuss defense options for overcoming your Second Degree DWI charges.